top of page
linnaekconkel

Sparrow Thornton

June Character Interview

Patricia Parrington ~ June 1, 2023



Hello my lovely readers and fellow book-lovers! For those of you who are new here, I, your wonderful word-spinning host, Patricia Parrington, have the pleasure of interviewing characters from books all over the world.


Today we have here with us Sparrow Thornton, a character from Aaron Quinn’s book series The Stars Below the Concrete. Inspired by Flannery O’Conner, Wiley Cash, and Harry Crews; Aaron’s mind constantly wades in the dark hope of the south with massive contradictions and bigger questions driving his narratives while he asks his reader one question: “Will you stay with me until the end?”


 

Sparrow Thornton

[Patricia and Sparrow walk in and sit on a brown leather couch.]

Sorry about the last-minute change in furniture! My dragon, Scribblemore, had a, uh, accident on the usual couch. Anyhoo, welcome to Fable Features! I’m excited to get to know you. So where are you from?

[Sparrow tugs at her sleeve and then starts rubbing the rose tattoo on her wrist.]

Why? Did Tuck send you? I bet Tuck sent you. I’m from here, at least right now.


[Patricia nods and smiles.]

Fair enough. And I can safely assure you I don’t know who Tuck is. I am glad you’re here though!

Do you have any nicknames?


No. Always wanted one.


Same! I know there’s several nicknames for “Patricia” but everyone still calls me “Patricia”. And it’s not like you can just ask people to call you something, right? Otherwise I feel like that defeats the purpose of a nickname.

[Patricia twirls a lock of green hair around her forefinger.]

But . . . if you could give yourself a nickname, what would it be?


Chili Dog. I love chili dogs. So chili dog.


I love that nickname!

So, Chili Dog, where did you learn most of your skills and other abilities?


[Sparrow’s face drops its hardened look, and she leans back in the chair.]

Old Man Bernard taught me when I hid in the woods for a time. I owe that man my life.


Sounds like he was an amazing man.


You know I thought I was going to have to stab him the first time I saw him? Normally, I regret not stabbing someone. Happy I didn’t stab that dude.


[Patricia’s eyes widen.]

Oh wow! Yeah, good thing you didn’t stab him.

[She teasingly leans away for a moment.]

I hope you don’t stab me!


I never stab anyone that doesn’t deserve it. Do you think you deserve to be stabbed? Just kidding. You are nice. I never stab nice people.


Well that’s good to hear!

[Patricia settles back and taps her chin with one finger.]

If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?


[Sparrow tries to keep eye contact but they fall to the ground.]

I’d of left home a lot earlier.


Why’s that? If you don’t mind me asking.


[Sparrow leans in real close and grinds here teeth.]

Listen. I’m going to say this once. That’s none of your business.

[Sparrow coughs back tears.]

Sorry, I just can’t go there.


[Patricia’s eyes soften and she hands Sparrow a tissue.]


[Sparrow nods thanks for the tissue but sticks it under her thigh instead of using it.]


I totally understand. Let’s change the topic to something a little more light-hearted, yes?

What is your most treasured possession?


The chain that connects me and Pillar. Do you know about the chain? I never did until Cyrus told me. It’s way out.

[Sparrow puts her hand on her heart knowing the interviewer cannot understand what she is talking about.]


Hmm, no I’ve don’t know about the chain. I’d love to hear more about it though!


More? Well. There’s Pillar. The concrete. Something about a prophecy. Cyrus. Like this weird land. And the chain somehow explains it all. Wild, totally wild.


Yes, that sounds very wild! I’m intrigued. Honestly, I’m intrigued by numerous things many would deem “random.” Like yodeling.

[Patricia cocks her head a bit.]

What are your thoughts on yodeling?


Not very helpful when playing hide-and-seek.


Haha, true! It would certainly make the game much more challenging for the hider.

What’s your comfort food?


Doughnuts, def doughnuts. Reminds me of someone I met once.


[Patricia glances at her wrist, though there’s no watch visible there.]

Seems like we have time for one more question. What’s something you would have a super hard time turning down if it were offered to you?


[A small smile comes over Sparrow as she nods.]

The keys to the evidence locker at a police station.


Oooh, I take it something important to you is there?


Not exactly, but I bet there is something that can help me forget why I should’ve left home earlier.


Hmmm, interesting. Well I won’t take up any more of your time! Thanks again for letting me interview you. I hope you have a wonderful evening and that you find those evidence locker keys!


[Sparrow pats her heart and mouths thank you.]



End of interview.


 

Want to Read More?

Sparrow Thornton’s author, Aaron Quinn, can be found at his website and on Instagram. His book Stars Below the Concrete can be found here.






 

See Ya Next Month

Aaaand that's all the time we have today. Thank you, readers, for coming. And thank you, Sparrow Thornton, for letting us get to know you! See y'all next month, and until then stay outta trouble and keep writing!

 

If you would like to submit a character to be interviewed for a future issue of Fable Features, please send an email to linnaekconkel@gmail.com with the subject line: Fable Features.

If you have questions you'd like Patricia Parrington to ask in a future interview, please submit them to linnaekconkel@gmail.com with the subject line: Interview Questions.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page