top of page
linnaekconkel

Silmavalien

February Character Interview

Patricia Parrington ~ February 1, 2024



Hello my lovely readers and fellow book-lovers! For those of you who are new here, I, your marvelous host, Patricia Parrington, have the pleasure of interviewing characters from books all over the world.


Today we have here with us Silmavalien from DragonWing, book 2 of the Return of the Dragonriders triology by Raina Nightingale. Raina has been writing slice-of-life and epic stories about dragons (and other fantasy creatures) since she learned how to read. She calls her fantasy dawndark and enjoys magic that might have a personality of its own.


 

Meet Silmavalien

[Patricia and Silmavalien settle onto a pair of blue sofas. Patricia smiles at her guest.]

Welcome to Fable Features! I’m excited to get to know you. So where are you from?

 

[Silmavalien pulls a wave of thick dark hair over her shoulder and then wraps an arm over the shoulder of the mint-eyed white dragon lying next to her.]

I'm from the southern side of the mountains. I used to live in a village in the foothills, before Minth hatched and I had to run away. It's a lot hotter there because the mountains don't block the sun, which I like, but this is better for the albino dragons.

[The dragon turns his head towards her and chirrups a little.]

 

[Patricia’s eyes light up upon seeing the dragon.]

He’s so adorable! Sounds like you really care for dragons. How come you had to run away?

 

[Silmavalien smiles, and half-chuckles as she answers.]

Of course I care for them! When you bond, when your souls come together . . .

All the stories people believe tell them that dragons are evil, that they are demons who will devour our souls. They’re supposed to be burned alive, and their riders burned too, if they don’t give them up. Which I would never!

[Fierce vehemence coats her voice. The dragon nudges her hand with his nose.]

 

I’m glad you and I are on the same page, then. It’s awful to hear people belief dragons should be burned.

[Patricia shakes herself and clears her throat.]

But onto a lighter topic. Do you have any nicknames?

 

I'm often called Sil. All the women have shortened names, like that.

[She turns away, as if considering something, and the white dragon pushes his head up against her chest, nudging gently. She moves her hand to scratch him between the ears, then turns back, the mood seemingly gone.]

 

That’s a very pretty nickname.

Where did you learn most of your skills and other abilities?

 

[For a moment, Silmavalien's face shutters, looking confused. Then her smile brightens, and she laughs slightly, as if she finds the question amusing.]

Where I lived, and where I live. Where else could one go to learn? All the children learn by watching the older ones and the adults and being shown things by them. I learned to knit from my mother. I used to watch my father teach my brother about the bow, and then Noren taught me as he was learning to hunt.

[Her voice sobers as she speaks of Noren.]

And I've learned far more since Minth hatched and I had to hunt for us in the wilderness. How else can one learn?

 

That’s a fair point. Of all the skills you’ve learned thus far, which would you say is your favorite?

 

[Silmavalien scrunches her forehead, trying to think.]

I’m not sure . . . I don’t think of them that way. They all go together, you know? I truly enjoyed archery and hunting, but the first time I took a deer . . .

[She trails away, as if trying to think how to say this.]

The first time I took a deer, I mean, I could see the deer was a creature. She felt. She lived. She felt pain. She died. I didn’t notice when I was hunting smaller things, but I could feel the deer. For some reason, it doesn’t disturb the dragons. They don’t understand how I feel about this, and I know it’s not because they feel or care less. But I don’t understand what they try to say.

[Her voice slightly thick, Silmavalien goes on.]

It’s a life for a life. Others die, so we live. Why? A voice told me once, it’s the law of the universe that has been corrupted. But why? So I . . . don’t enjoy that part of it.

That one probably was the funnest to learn though, at least at the beginning, apart from riding the dragons. They love it that we can finally fly together, and it is truly the best thing.

 

[Patricia nods understandingly.]

Archery is fun, but if I had to hunt for my meals, I think I would struggle with that as well.

If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?

 

[Silmavalien's brows furrow slightly as she contemplates the question, perhaps another one she finds confusing.]

Change one thing about my life?

[She mutters slowly, as if making sure she has the question right.]

Does this mean change something about who I am, who I've been, something I've done perhaps?

[Her eyes turn grave and drop down to Minth, who rubs his face against her arm, crooning very quietly.]

I am not sure.

[She raises her eyes while the white dragon quietly presses his face against her, curving his wing over her head, and wrapping the tip of his tail around her.]

I hurt Minth by being so afraid, by making him afraid, when he was just a hatchling. It's so hard to know. But I know that was wrong, even if I still can't contemplate being any less terrified. I –

[Minth rumbles a little, and gently bumps her face with his. She strokes him under his ears again, and murmurs something quiet, then continues.]

He say he loves me. I don't think he'd understand what forgive means. But I know I hurt him, and I think he might have as many health problems as he does because of that. I hurt both of us. But I can't imagine being less afraid of us being burned. But that fear isn't love. So I wouldn't make him so afraid.

And I . . . I'd trust Noren. I'd tell him. I was too afraid to risk it, and I still kind of am, but Keya has helped me understand. It's just my fear. Noren does not believe in the demons and gods anyway. He'd have believed me and helped me, and now I've hurt him too, by lying to him and running away on our marriage night. So much would have been different . . .

 

[Patricia nods slowly and is quiet for a long moment.]

Fear causes us to do quite a few things, hmm? I suppose it’s natural to make mistakes due to fear. I know I have at least.

What is your most treasured possession?

 

[Silmavalien cants her head, thinking again.]

I am not sure.

[She speaks as if the question touches a fond memory.]

I used to have a collection of rocks and sticks. My “treasures” I called them, but I threw them all away when I fled with Minth.

Now, I have a little glowing rock, the same color as Minth's eyes. But I can't have a collection anymore, now that I can't expect to stay in one place for long. I don't have many things now, except the ones I need, like my cloak or my bow.

 

Well I’m glad you’re still able to hold onto a small part of that past hobby!

[Patricia leans back against the sofa.]

What are your thoughts on yodeling?

 

[Her brows furrow again.]

I don't know what that is.

[Even as she speaks, Minth rustles his wings, chortling, and she laughs softly, too.]

What kind of thoughts would I have on something like that? It's like – like – I don't know, but what kind of thoughts would I have?

 

[Patricia laughs.]

I’ve always been amused by what people can come up with, yodeling one of them.

[She waves a hand, and someone off-stage plays a short recording of a man yodeling. Patricia holds back another laugh.]

It’s certainly unique. What’s your favorite form of entertainment?

 

Singing!

[Silmavalien answers without hesitation, gesticulating with the arm she doesn't have wrapped around Minth.]

Or maybe it's listening to Songeth sing! He is one of my dragon friends. Or singing with him! I used to sing for festivals, and I used to enjoy hearing a new story from a bard, or an old one from a good bard. But now I wouldn't want to hear many of them again, knowing how horrible they are! But some of them are still fine, and I'd enjoy those. But Songeth is the best singer I know, and I love singing with him.

 

[Patricia’s eyes light up and she leans forward.]

I love singing, too! What’s your favorite song to sing?

 

Songeth says that’s the wrong way to think about it. You sing the song that’s right for the moment.

The song that means most to me in the world is my and Minth’s bonding song, but it’s not always the right song to sing. Mostly, we make songs as we go, to be the right song for the moment, for what we are feeling or trying to say. So I don’t really have a favorite song to sing.

 

That’s a good way to think about it! I think I might adopt that frame of thinking as well.

Well, we’re down to the last few minutes of the interview, so here’s a final question: What’s something you would have a super hard time turning down if it were offered to you?

 

[Silmavalien takes a few moments to consider, then begins.]

The last story I ever heard told by a bard was the tale of Faeri, and there were others like it I'd heard before and learned. In the story, Faeri was a Dragonrider and an evil witch, whose gifts brought prosperity and health, and made people's lives better and longer, but they were curses in disguise, enslaving people's souls and keeping them from seeing the truth, and in the end, the demons devoured their souls.

[She presses her lips together, considering, then goes on.]

I don't believe we need to be afraid of taking good things. That's a lie of the nightmare, to make us afraid, and I don't believe any of those stories anymore. But . . .

[She bends her head down, and this time Minth doesn't move or make any sounds.]

There was something I almost didn't turn down. It's hard to talk about, but I met one of the medusar. The nightmare demons are real, and they do make offers. And what the medusa offered me . . . to be untouchable, never afraid again, never subject to another's power so nothing could ever hurt me . . . That offer is fear itself, and death, too. The end of love, of life. So . . .

[She shakes her head slightly.]

I don't know if that makes sense. But that's what I'd have a hard time turning down. A promise that I and no one I care about can be hurt. But it's so confusing. To me . . . to be the best I can be, to really be good, to be the kind of person who can never be evil, never hurt another no matter what . . . the kind of person who would not have hurt Minth or lied to Noren. Even if it takes being hurt, or being able to be hurt . . . That's where love is, that's where what's good is. I do not understand it, but I'm sure of it. I want to become the kind of person who is good no matter what. That's what it means to be a good person. I want to love.

 

[Patricia listens attentively and slowly nods her head.]

Sounds like it was very difficult turning that down. But you’re right! That isn’t where love is found. And I think you’re well on your way to being someone who loves and brings much good to the world.

[Patricia stands.]

Thank you so much for coming out! And for bringing Minth—I love meeting other dragons!


End of interview.


 

Want to Read More?

Silmavalien’s author, Raina Nightingale, can be found on Twitter/X and on her website. The Dragonriders Trilogy can be bought here or on Goodreads.









 

See Ya Next Month

Aaaand that's all the time we have today. Thank you, readers, for coming. And thank you, Silmavalien, for letting us get to know you. See y'all February 15, and until then, stay outta trouble and keep writing!


 

If you would like to submit a character to be interviewed for a future issue of Fable Features, please send an email to linnaekconkel@gmail.com with the subject line: Fable Features.

Please note that erotica and content with excessive vulgar language will not be accepted.

If you have questions you'd like Patricia Parrington to ask in a future interview, please submit them to linnaekconkel@gmail.com with the subject line: Interview Questions.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page